top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureClara Andrade Gomes

How to bring ideas brewing in your mind into the world

I'm very interested in the ways people come up with ideas. Without our ideas, it would be hard to solve problems and to create... anything. Think about how you come up with ideas for a new dish, a game, or a work project you've been assigned.


I don’t have a structured process to come up with ideas. Most times things come to me when they come to me. Although this might be what people often say about doing "creative" things - and admittedly not super helpful - I do have optimal "ideas" moments. In fact, I am probably underplaying how much I’ve learned to identify ideating times that best work for me by saying "things come to me when they come to me".


This probably tells you something about me. I’ve never loved too much structure in my life. I like to change up routines as much as I can. I enjoy feeling that I have the freedom to choose what I do and when, within the constraints of my obligations. I would argue being flexible is also important to make the most of times we are creating.


If you’re someone who likes structure, don’t panic. You might find these tips surprisingly useful. After all, we often brew creative ideas in our minds, it’s just a matter of getting them out into the world and start turning them into something. I'm confident you can find your optimal "ideas" times by being aware of your personal thinking and energy patterns, and by following some of these tips.



Make "ideas time" a time in your agenda

More often than not there are external deadlines we need to meet, and things need to get done. It's unrealistic to sit around and wait for that genius idea to come to you. This is also true for your projects that have no specific deadlines, or that are far in the future. So it’s helpful to have a schedule with specific time slots for ideating. This has worked surprisingly well for me in my work.


At a certain time of the day, every day, I walk away from my computer and get a break from looking at the screen to just let myself think and record thoughts. It's incredible how many thoughts just come, without much effort, when I let them. Sometimes I'll go for a walk and take notes, or just stare at the wall for a few minutes. It kind of works as a brainstorm, because I'll write anything down, good or bad ideas.


Outside of those scheduled times, identify moments when ideas flow freely.


Discover when your filters are ‘off’


For my personal activity - which is writing - I know that my filters are off when I am tired at night, or first thing in the morning. I like to do an exercise called "flow", which you can do for 10 minutes first thing after you wake up, or at a time when you would usually be going to bed. The idea is that these are times when you are slightly unfocused and unfiltered.


During "flow", you’re not thinking about the ideas themselves, you are simply putting words on the page, even if they don’t make sense. Time yourself to make sure you’re sticking to the 10 minutes, and don't stop writing. This means ideas will be on paper (or on screen) before you have the time to think about them.


This exercise helps you dump unfiltered ideas. When filters are on, and you judge things as strange or only making sense in your head, you might be stopping yourself from recording productive thoughts. If you are more visual, try drawing things instead of writing them.


This activity is a way of being non-judgmental with your writing, your sketching, or even that work report. Wouldn’t recommend this for people working with spreadsheets though.


Review your ideas, over and over


The ideas that come out in those exercises need to be revisited.


If I am writing a text for work, I will look at it again at a time when I more focused and "conscious". These exercises are not meant to give you your finished product - or it could, if that’s your style of work.


Would you consider trying any of these ideation processes? What sounds challenging about them? And if you do end up trying it, please get in touch and share, I’d love to hear from you.

63 views1 comment
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page