top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureClara Andrade Gomes

Here's 3 things you can do to be more confident writing in a second language

Updated: May 14, 2021

Speaking a new language is difficult enough. You need to get used to saying things in a different order and making all kinds of new sounds. Writing in that language can be just as hard. But written language holds the key to communicating with the people we need, and getting what we want.


This is especially the case when studying, living and working in a new country. There’s university assessments/exams, talking to work colleagues, someone at the store, friends etc. I know a lot of people who are terrified of writing in a language that is not their first. They struggle to find the right words and are unhappy with the results.


What we need to do, then, is to gradually become more confident in writing in that language!


English is not my first language, but I love writing in English. If it seems strange that I am comfortable, and even enjoy, writing in a language other than my first, I’ll give you three reasons for why that is.


The first: It is very practical to write in a global language

More people understand English than they do Portuguese, for example. That means there is a larger number of people who can read my stuff in English, so I automatically grow my audience. By that same token, if I wrote in Mandarin I’d reach even more people!

The second: I love discovering new angles

My writing in English and, say, Portuguese - my mother tongue - are very different to each other. The words I use to describe the same thing are often very different. Seeing the same idea expressed or executed in two different ways is very satisfying, and doesn’t require much creativity on my part.


The third: It is a habit

It hasn’t always come naturally. I’ve been writing in English since I was 10. I do this for personal writing, outside of any language course or school. I am only used to it now because I’ve had 16 years of practice!


If you’re trying to write in a different language, it’s likely you’re also trying to speak it. These are ways I have found to overcome the fear of writing in a different language, which all equally apply to speaking in a different language.


Practice makes perfect

My first tip is to try new habits with language.


Make it a habit to write in that language more often. Use it for simple things first, like a shopping list, then move on to bigger things, like text messages and e-mails. If you are insecure about sending a text message or e-mail, write them many times, and give yourself think about them before sending - if it’s not urgent, that is.


Expand that to things other than writing. Try to think in that language, have conversations with yourself in that language, or imaginary conversations with people. Language teachers love these exercises, and they will sound familiar if you have ever learned a different language.

Set different standards

My second tip is to expect less when you first start. You are likely to be more satisfied with your results.

It is difficult to immediately achieve the same writing standards you are used to in your preferred language. Let go of the standards you hold for writing that is in your preferred language. In my case, no matter how much I practice, my mother tongue is often the easiest and most natural language to communicate in. This goes for written and verbal communication. So it is unfair to ourselves to expect that, when first starting, our writing will be just as good in different languages. Self-compassion is key!


A hot tip for people who are bilingual or multilingual. We often try to find the exact word we are thinking of in the second or third language, and get really stuck. This makes us exert unnecessary effort. Remember you can express yourself just as well with more than one word that convey the same meaning. After all, what we are trying to achieve is clarity of communication. Don’t overcomplicate.


Think of all the opportunities

My third tip is to think of it as an exciting opportunity.

Anyone who speaks more than one language knows that certain things are more difficult to express in one language than another. That’s because you have different frames of thinking for different languages. There is a wealth of ideas available to you in a different language. Writing in a different language might provide you with some self-discovery opportunities or great ideas for a story!


Tell me more about your experiences


Do you have any fears when it comes to writing in a different language? How do you overcome them?

Please note I am not a linguistics expert and am only speaking from personal experience, and some experience as an English as a second language teacher.

45 views2 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page